From Marketer to Blogista

From Marketer to Blogista

I never imagined myself writing a blog. Nor did I ever imagine myself actually LIKING writing a blog. I always thought that I wouldn’t know what to write about, or no one would actually care to read it. The idea of everyone having access to my candid thoughts made me feel way too exposed. This experience has helped me realize how fun blogging can actually be.

I chose the content of each blog carefully. I’ve always been really interested in marketing, and hope to have a career in it one day, so I knew I wanted to write about marketing campaigns. When I was reading articles on social media campaigns, I selected brands that I knew everyone would know about and have opinions about. I also received some recommendations from friends on interesting campaigns to write about. To further encourage conversation, I would end each blog post with questions to the viewer.

As I had expected, people don’t just stumble on to your page and leave comments, I had to promote my blog. At first, I resorted to Twitter and Facebook, encouraging my friends to check out my blog. This worked really well as my friends and family were all really supportive. But I wanted to generate traffic from people I didn’t know as well. I figured that once I was getting comments from random people on the internet, my content was sticky and people were actually interested in what I had to say. So, I promoted my blog all through out the internet. I posted quora.com, Reddit, Stumbleupon, Yahoo Answers, Blog Catalog, Blogarama, Flipboard, and frequently commented on other people’s blogs. To my surprise, this method actually worked! Almost half of the comments I received were from people I do not know. It was also really interesting to see that people were organically stumbling onto my blog through search engines like Google and Bing. Not only was I getting viewers in Canada, I was reaching people in the US, the UK, India, Ukraine, and 30 other countries!

I actually found myself obsessed over checking my stats everyday. WordPress does an amazing job of laying out all the information you could ever need to know about your blog. I also played around with the theme A LOT. I wanted to ensure that the theme I chose was simple and easy on the eyes, as well as really clearly showed where users can comment. One thing that I would have done differently is the timing of my posts, as I did not have a consistent schedule of when I would blog.

As the semester has come to an end, I actually have contemplated continuing to blog. It has been an eye-opening experience into the online world that I never would have done without a push!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

